Winter Solstice 2016

I will be honest.  I have never celebrated Solstice before.  I have heard of it, heard others discussing it and understand a little about it but considering the changes occurring in our lives lately I thought if nothing this was a beautiful opportunity to just be outside.

As I lugged my firemaking supplies through the deep snow I felt the warm back behind me guiding me.  I know our winters are harsh,  l know they are cold but that sun.  Nothing compares to the amazing amount of sun that we see.  It can make the world of difference.  I would take snow/cold with shining snow over anything any day.

img_8365

Félix made a mad dash to his favourite winter equipment at Crescent Drive Park…the toboggan run.  The city does such an amazing job putting this run together.   Spraying and shaping water into a thick luge and nice ice walls.  Félix doesn’t even need a sled or toboggan to keep him happy.  He declares this has one of his happiest places to be.

img_8371-2

I was grateful to be accompanied by two people that I gather strength from.  The kind of people that emit such positive energy that being with them lifts my spirits and my hearts.  Not to mention they are loves of nature and children in nature!  A beautiful combo

The children played.  I used my skills to start a fire in deep snow.  Determination and a lot of perseverance brought me success.  Such a feeling of pride.  Knowing over a year ago I would have zero confidence to start my own fire.  A summer filled with camping with Félix and self-confidence sure can change a lot!

With the celebration of Winter Solstice we were encouraged to write and then burn our negative thoughts and what we wanted to change.  I reflected then watched as my words burnt quickly.  Hoping that I can leave the negative behind and forge ahead with the positive.

img_8384-2

We spent a few hours outside basking in the beauty of nature.  I really need this day.  My soul needed this day.  It had been way too long since we had been out in nature together.  Leaving the clocks behind and our worries for another day.  It felt so good to just be in the moment

img_8362-2

When asked what people do for the winter solstice a friend commented that she and her family feed the animals in her yard nourishing food to prepare them for the winter.  I thought this was very beautiful.  I picked up a huge bag of cracked corn which would help birds, squirrels, deer, raccoons, skunks etc prepare for the harsh winter ahead.  We left some corn around the trees and in nooks and crannies for them to find.  On our way out Félix left a trail behind him.

It was such a beautiful day and I am grateful to have spent it with Félix and some amazing friends ♥  Welcome winter and all of your beauty.  I am sure we will be seeing a lot of each other soon.

img_8393-2img_8387-2

 

Leave a Reply

